Hair / Hair Care

Review: Lee Stafford ‘s Hair Growth Treatment

Lee Stafford Hair Growth Treatment 1

In an attempt to obsess less over nail polish (sorry for that, we get carried away some times…), we’ve been on the prowl for new products to test & share with you.  So today we’ve got  a review of Lee Stafford‘s Hair Growth Treatment – or HAiR GRowTH TREaTMENT – by our beauty-in-chief Lisa.

LISA

Over the past couple of years, my hair has seen many different styles & colours – I’ve dyed it black, blond, red, and every shade of dark brown, I chopped off my long manes for the sleek bob made fashionable by Rihanna, and exposed it to the Spanish chlorinated tap water & the waters of the Balearic Sea on a daily basis – so it’s fair to say I’ve put my locks through a lot. And it showed: my hair was a weird combination of dry ends with über greasy roots and it would just not be tamed and/or styled.

I tried switching to different shampoos & conditioners – though I’ve never been a fan of the latter – but ended up with even drier tresses – and even went No ‘Poo for a bit (not a success at the time as not washing it made my hair oily and stringy, which was not a flattering look and definitely not work appropriate), but nothing really seemed to work.

What I did notice during my shampoo-free months was that my hair felt better if I washed it 2-3 times a week instead of every day. Now I only wash it once or twice a week and my hair is in the best state it’s been in in a long time.  The only problem now is that it doesn’t seem to grow past my shoulders, which has left me with pretty much the same ‘do for 2 years. An here’s where Lee Stafford‘s Hair Growth Treatment comes in!

This treatment “for hair that never grows past a certain length” sounded perfect and an extensive google search provided me with copious raving reviews about how amazing this product is, so I was easily convinced 🙂 About a month ago, I finally got my hands on one of these lovely looking pots – Lee Stafford is not that widely available where I live – and was very eager to try it. At approximately €11, the Hair Growth Treatment isn’t cheap, but according to the reviews I’d read, it was well worth the money.

What Lee Stafford’s Hair Growth Treatment promises:

  • Vital hair and scalp complex helps to reduce hair loss
  • Improves follicle health which in turn increases the ability of the hair to anchor to the scalp
  • Soothing formulation reduces irritation and moisturizes the scalp
  • Addresses hair and scalp ageing at a cellular level
  • Improvement in tensile strength to give body and texture by penetrating the hair reaching the inner cortex
  • Improves volume and feel of the hair

According to Lee Stafford himself, you are to apply an egg-sized scoop of the product to your hair after shampooing and massage it in from roots to ends, leaving it in for 5 minutes before rinsing and conditioning as normal. I reckoned that particular quantity would be a tad too much for my hair (especially for €11 per tub!), so I used about half of that. Mister Stafford also recommends using this treatment in between the shampoo and conditioner from the Hair Growth range, but I thought I’d see how this treatment worked for me first.

Lee Stafford Hair Growth Treatment 3When I opened the pot, I instantly noticed the treatment’s scent, which is supposedly typical of Lee Stafford products, and reminded me of my grandmother’s cosmetics powder – but not in a good way (I’ll get to this later). I scooped out about half the recommended amount (or the size of a tiny egg?) and massaged it in as instructed. The Hair Growth Treatment‘s consistency was just right – not too thick, not too runny – and was easy to apply all over my hair. I left it in for 5 minutes – which I spent shaving my legs 🙂 – and then rinsed it out. Even pre-conditioning, my hair felt  super soft and smooth and I was quite pleased with it, but then I looked down. The shower drain was full of hair (and no, not from shaving my legs, they weren’t THAT hairy!)! As I clean the drain after every shower, I know how much hair usually falls out in the shower but this was preposterous – and scary. But seeing as there was nothing I could do about it, I conditioned my hair and went on with my day.

But all day – and even up to three days later – the Hair Growth Treatment‘s scent followed me. While the scent itself is perfectly tolerable, I just don’t like my hair to smell like it… especially not for days! Thinking it was perhaps the combination of the treatment with my regular conditioner, I decided to try and ignore it.

Not one to give up, I gave it another go a 2 weeks later and again my hair fell out in clumps – possible even more so than the first time! As this was the only change in my hair care/beauty routine, there is no doubt that Lee Stafford’s Hair Growth Treatment is the culprit, which is a shame because I really wanted to like this product (it’s cruelty free!), but it is just not for me

Have you ever had a similar experience with a much hyped product?

 

FOLLOW US ON
Bloglovin | Facebook | Twitter

 

 

 

One thought on “Review: Lee Stafford ‘s Hair Growth Treatment

  1. It was such an amazing article. But form my point of view the product I am using hair restore shampoois really effective.It will improve your hairs for sure so try it once people because Get softer, smoother, shinier, gorgeous looking curls and coils with SheaMoisture’s Jamaican Black Castor Oil Strengthen Grow & Restore Shampoo.

    Like

Leave a Comment

